Submitted by Matthew Wood.  An experienced and talented copywriter, he writes SEO savvy content for a collection of online publications and web projects.  Matthew’s latest work involves writing creative and engaging content on the subjects of Form work and Kwikstage Scaffolding for the established online brand Unit Plant Services.

It may not be something that is at the top of your agenda but the value of scaffolding training really is priceless.

Owners of construction companies should ensure that all of their operatives who are involved with either the deployment or inspection of scaffolding should undergo the relative training needed to proficiently use the equipment.  Negligence in the operation of mounting and utilising scaffolding can result in devastating consequences such as damage to third party property, fines, cost of accident fees, injury to personnel and even death.

As such, I’m sure you’d agree that scaffolding training is absolutely vital for workers who are required to use the structures. This article will therefore highlight the applicable training courses for scaffolding and the benefits of such learning.

National Record Card Scheme & NVQ – Basic

This course is for the beginners who have no prior scaffolding training – although they must have at least six months experience as a scaffolder labourer. There are two parts to this course – which lasts around 20 days – and, upon completion, workers will be able to erect and dismantle scaffolding when working as part of a team. Part two of the course will include written and practical exams with an emphasis on working with different types of scaffolding.

Portfolio Build Level 2 Basic

If candidates have completed the aforementioned training then they are eligible to undertake a Portfolio course which teaches workers how to create and portray a collection of projects. This could be an excellent course for those looking to bolster their credentials when looking for employment in the construction industry.

NVQ Level 2 Assessment

This course – which requires the two basic parts of the National Record Card Scheme & NVQ to qualify for entry – has an emphasis on practical assessments which covers the theory that was undertaken during the basic training.

CISRS Advanced

To enter this course, candidates must hold a Basic Scaffolders Card. The training will involve the scaling and interpretation of construction drawings with workers learning how to erect and dismantle scaffolding a safe and correct manner. Upon completion, candidates will receive an Advanced Scaffolders certificate to represent their progress.

Portfolio Build Level 3 Advanced

This is a similar course to the previous portfolio guidance but will incorporate the subsequent training that works up to the Level 3 of scaffolding qualifications. 

NVQ Level 3 Assessment

Workers will undertake a number of practical tests in this course and cover the content that has been learnt during the advanced and Level 3 stage of scaffolding qualifications. Each of the candidates’ portfolios will also be examined in order to determine their level of understanding. At the end of the course, workers will be awarded documentation to show their competence against the required standards of scaffolding in construction – enabling them to apply for their CITB Advanced Record Card.

In the U.S., OSHA revised its scaffolds standard in 1996.  BLS studies showed that 25% of workers injured in scaffold accidents had received no scaffold safety training, and 77% of scaffolds were not equipped with guardrails.  OSHA estimates that informed employers and workers, in compliance with correct safety standards, can save as many as 50 lives and prevent 4,500 accidents every year.  In a recent Bureau of Labor study, 72% of workers injured in scaffold accidents attributed the accident either to the planking or support giving way, or to the employee slipping or being struck by a falling object.  The OSHA standard sets performance-based criteria to protect employees from scaffold-related hazards such as falls, falling objects, structural instability, electrocution, or overloading.  It also addresses training and various types of scaffolds, as well as falling object protection, ladders, weather conditions, aerial lifts, stilts, and other matters that are not covered in OSHA’s previous scaffolding standards.  Also, it allows employers more flexibility when using protective systems for working on scaffolds.  pb



  1. Pingback: Lester Misenheimer

Comments are closed.